Concert

Went to a concert tonight.  The West Devon Chorale, appearing in Tavistock.

A fine small choir (between 20 and 30 voices), and a really good programme.  Unlike so many of the otherwise-good groups who perform here, they didn’t take the line “country bumpkins, need some pop stuff”.  So no messiah excerpts, pomp&circumstance, or other such boring hack stuff.  Just a programme packed with some really good music.  In order: Holst, Tavener, Messian, Vaughan Williams, Vierne, and Widor.  To me the highlight of the evening was the Vierne mass: truly superb music from a composer about whom I know absolutely nothing.  Must seek out some more.

Afterwards Sarah and I went for a meal at the Birds Nest, the Chinese restaurant that serves the best meals in Tavistock.  Feeling jolly merry after a full bottle of hot, spicy rice wine between two of us.  Food was nice too.  Mmmm 🙂

Posted on October 18, 2008, in music, tavistock. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There is always a place for your so called ‘pop stuff’ like the familiarity of a comfortable pair of slippers! One day I intend going to the Last Night of the Proms with ‘all’ its Pomp and Ceremony.

    At the same time we should always be ready to receive new experiences. I would personally like to develop my interests’ in folk, jazz, celtic and African music. Thank goodness we have the opportunity to keep music fresh throughout of lives.

    Taking a trip down memory lane I remember in the Far East being woken up to the regular calls to prayer ‘Allah___ Allah belaq bah (or there abouts!) which in my earlier days drove me insane (5.30 am being my regular wake up call) but after analysing the quarter tones etc I started to enjoy + appreciate + accept the sound +its individual qualities. Not as pleasant as a good dawn chorus mind.

    Above all it is the making of music that gives so much pleasure. If music be the food of love play on.

    By the way – thank you for a lovely evening.

Leave a comment