Pocket-puter

This is a first post from the Nokia N900, using not my own wifi but O2’s mobile 3G (or whatever it’s called these days) network.

I have to say, I’m a bit disappointed.  I’m sure I’ll get used to the touchscreen, but altogether less inspired by this keyboard.  Having lived a year with the beautifully-engineered E71 and the world’s smallest (but nevertheless easy and pleasurable to use) QWERTY keyboard, I had some faith in Nokia’s designers.  It was evidently misplaced: this keyboard is poorly-designed and will always be a pain to use. Next up: try it with a full-size USB or bluetooth keyboard, but that doesn’t help when out in the hills, or on the bus.

I still expect to find uses for it.  It’s already better for Web than the E71 (bigger screen), and being Linux means I can presumably install things like decent mail and IRC apps.

[update] fix the typos that were inevitable on the N900 (but which magically don’t happen on the E71).

Posted on January 12, 2010, in maemo, nokia. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Currently using a BOLD BB phone love the QWERTY (big fan of keyboards). Did you had the chance to try or see the Nexus One phone?

    It seems the only way to get one in Canada is to buy an unlocked phone across the border I have heard they do work with our current cellphone carriers.

  2. Still no news on Nexus One being released to canadians… Maybe never? RIM is however coming out with touch style phone.

  1. Pingback: Offline « niq's soapbox

Leave a comment