Power consumption trends.

I just looked at my latest electricity bill.  EDF (the supplier) appears to have introduced a usage measure, showing my comparative consumption now vs the last quarter and a year ago:

My electricity consumption

That’s a small reduction, which is entirely explained by the fact that I was away from home for 3 of the 14 weeks covered, as against 1 of (probably) 13 last year. No surprise there: I haven’t changed my lifestyle, and much of my usage is dictated by the fact that I work full-time from home (which means 100+ hours/week of computer time, and corresponding kitchen usage). In other words, no real change.

I don’t know what their units are, but good on EDF for including this information. If it helps some users to “slim”, then it can’t be a bad thing! At least, until it induces complacency. Have other suppliers introduced anything like that?

Posted on June 17, 2008, in energy. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yeah the electric company we use here in New England does that as well, National Grid. We also use direct debit but they do send us a bill. I enjoy seeing how the energy fluctuates – usually dictated by heating and cooling, even though we have computers running all the time.

    Would be nice if you could track this info via their website. They have a decent website but of course there is a lot of room for improvement!

  2. One unit of electricity is one kilowatt hour – it’s a standard measure used throughout the industry.

  3. My supplier doesn’t provide this information. Like you, I think it’s a rather good idea. Could you email me the scanned image, and I’ll send it on to them and suggest they do something similar?

    Cheers, John

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

