Solaris!

Yay! I’ve set up the new solaris box, and I can do things like blog from it. Things are progressing!

There’s still much to do, of course. I had to work around some strange security restrictions just to set up a user account (root has no privilege to create a /home/nick directory, nor even to chmod /home). It feels a little like when you first get bitten by selinux. And plenty of boring routine admin to do, like making sure sshd is the only network daemon to start at boot time!

I’ve also got some logistics to figure out, with two machines now sharing one desk. I think I may be able to plug both computers in to the same monitor, in which case I can just switch keyboard/mouse to move from one to t’other. The Sun monitor is indeed luxury!

Posted on May 2, 2008, in solaris, sun. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. /home isn’t a regular dir, by default it’s where automounted NFS home dirs go, that’s why..

    % df /home
    Filesystem kbytes used avail capacity Mounted on
    auto.home 0 0 0 0% /home

    See e.g. /etc/auto_master

  2. Aha! That explains it.

    It doesn’t explain why “useradd” tries and fails to create /home/nick, and leaves me with an unusable /etc/passwd entry for user nick until I figure it out and fix it by hand. Nor what canned script I should’ve used to add a user.

Leave a comment