New delivery

My workstation from Sun has just arrived.  It’s in two huge boxes: one containing the workstation itself, the other a 24″ monitor (Luxury!) and some accessories.  The workstation is obscenely big (says 25Kg on the box), but fortunately the delivery man from DHL helped carry it upstairs as a two-man job.

Now my task for the weekend is to clear out some space.  I don’t have room on the desk for two monitors, so I’m going to have to put aside the el-cheapo 19″ jobbie I’ve been using for the past few years.  And I already have a spare monitor: the 19″ CRT that preceded the move to flatscreen serves for just-in-case, and could even see active use again if I get into fast-moving games or watching video.

The workstation itself can live on the floor to the left of the desk.  It’s a space I rarely need to access, and sometimes serves as floor-based filesystem.

Longer-term, I need more desk-space!

Posted on May 1, 2008, in sun. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Nice. 24″ TFT is such a nice thing but how will you keep warm in the winter without the crt space heater? By the size of the workstation I’m guessing either U40 or U45?

  2. Seriously, only 24″‘s? I couldn’t live without my 30″ apple monitor at work. Also, how are you going to use OSX on that Sun box?😉

  1. Pingback: Two computers, one desk « niq’s soapbox

Leave a Reply

