A salutory lesson

Just read the sad tale of the demise of Gianugo’s blog.

In short, it fell victim to a spammer/cracker inserting something nasty, which only got noticed when the entire blog fell out of google.  Gianugo had fallen into the common trap of assuming a personal site too insignificant to be of interest to an attacker (a mistake with which I entirely sympathise).  If I’m not much mistaken, Gianugo knows what he’s doing, and if it can happen to him, it can happen to any of us.

For me, this is a very good reason to host my blog at wordpress.com – one less thing to worry about.  Which is not to say I won’t fall victim to a similar attack, either my own server through something different, or my blog through a successful attack on wordpress.com.  We can but do our best to protect ourselves against known dangers!

Posted on January 15, 2008, in security, wordpress. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment