Barriers to free trade

I have a 19″ monitor that’s surplus to requirement.  It’s a great big CRT, and was last used four years ago.  But it was a top-end monitor in its time, and might still be of interest to a CRT fan.

I’ve just looked at putting it on freecycle (again – been through this loop before).  Happy to donate it to a good home: no charge if you collect!

But it turns out that I can only advertise on freecycle if I sign up to them.  Which in turn means signing up to Yahoo, a procedure that requires an annoyingly extensive form and an eyesight test (with silent “audio” alternative).  I am reminded why I’ve never signed up for bloody freecycle. 😦

If anyone reading this is subscribed to Tavistock/West Devon Freecycle, please post: OFFER: 19″ Monitor, Iiyama Visionmaster Pro 450, with a pointer to this blog entry.  Or if you can use it yourself and collect from here (Tavistock), just let me know.

Posted on January 29, 2011, in tavistock. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You don’t need a Yahoo account to use Freecycle, even though the Freecycle network is run through Yahoo Groups. Almost all Freecycle groups have something similar to the following:

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/tavistock_freecycle/

    Near the bottom of the page:
    “Group Email Addresses”.

    Grant.

Leave a comment