Daily Archives: January 7, 2011

Planning permission

What are the criteria for consulting local people over planning applications?

When there were major works to build a new apartment block (9 apartments) just across the road, we were not even notified, let alone consulted.  On other occasions they’ve gone through the motions but avoided the risk of getting real feedback from the public.  On other occasions, they’ve just pinned up a little notice.

Today I got a real, physical letter from the council.  I’m being consulted, and there’s nothing in there that smells of evasion!

So what is the subject of this consultation?  It’s an application from next-door-but-one to install a dormer window.  About as trivial a change as anyone could ask for!  Perhaps it’s just the major works they avoid asking us about?

Anyway, if the neighbours want a dormer window, that’s fine by me.  I might put in a polite request that their builders not inflict a ghetto-blaster on the neighbourhood, but I think that’s better done by a friendly word with the neighbour than through a bureaucratic planning process.

I had an idea the current government was talking about relaxing some of the red tape on planning.  I hope this kind of nonsense is what they mean!

