Videoconferencing

Never tried videoconferencing before: I don’t really see the point[1].  But my mum’s just got a new macbook, and upgraded her skype, and wanted to play with her new toy!

So she skyped me.  And as soon as I replied, I could see her in a skype window.  Looking at it, there was also a button to turn my camera on.  Hey presto, we’re videoconferencing!

[1] Now sharing something on screen (“whiteboard”-style) is another matter, and makes a lot of sense when discussing something complex.  And yes, I can see the plain ol’ video has a point too when there’s something visual to demonstrate.  But not just for its own sake.

Posted on October 24, 2009, in telephony. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Maybe not when it’s someone you know really well on the other end. The first time talking to cow-orkers around the globe it helps putting a face to the voice. And I know my little nieces like videoconferencing as well because it’s much easier to understand who’s on the other end if there’s a face as well.

Leave a comment