Daily Archives: October 5, 2009

Reverse Proxying Tutorial

My reverse proxying tutorial seems to be a standard reference on the subject.  Unfortunately it’s been allowed to get out-of-date as the software concerned has developed.

I updated it a week or two ago to fix those parts that are no longer correct or recommended, and to describe practice with Apache 2.2, mod_proxy_html 3.1, and mod_xml2enc.  Having today seen someone on IRC ask about a configuration clearly derived from the outdated version, I thought I should blog it here in the hope of reaching a few more googlers.

I may expand it a bit further to cover additional subtopics, particularly internationalisation.  I’m half-tempted to add something brief on other common reverse-proxying topics: authentication and single-sign-on, caching, load-balancing, and perhaps even mod_security.  But at the same time, I’m not particularly keen to grow it long enough to do justice to such topics.  Anyone with views on whether this would or wouldn’t be useful, feel free to comment here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers