Apache 2.2.6

A new Apache release 2.2.6 was announced today, together with maintenance updates of legacy versions 2.0 and 1.3.

This  follows unusually closely after the (unreleased) version 2.2.5.  It’s been a busy time, and there are some significant updates, most notably to DBD, and a fix to piped logging problems on some platforms.  But the main reason for not releasing before was to update the bundled APR version to improve it on Mac.  Since none of these updates affects me, I’m sticking with 2.2.5 for the time being.

Holding it up for APR updates bugs me somewhat.  It’s supposed to be a separate project, and we should be able to release a server version independently.   If I launch my package manager on any modern operating system, it shows them as two separate packages, and updates each of the two independently as and when the packagers get around to it.  Those of us who install from source can and do install necessary dependencies.  And I want my APR installation to be available to other applications, such as svn.

But if I can’t persuade folks to unbundle third-party libraries like expat and especially pcre (which is known to cause serious versioning problems for some users), what chance of unbundling APR and making a reality of the claim of separate projects?

Posted on September 7, 2007, in apache. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment