Tech-savvy

Had a power cut this evening, about 11:40 pm.

I was sitting at the ‘puter trying to fill some ghastly form – now abandoned for the day. Plunged into darkness, I (by lucky chance) had the mobile phone on the desk and knew approximately where it was, so I reached out carefully and found it. Used its torch to navigate to the bed, where I lay down and fired up a browser and went to check whether the issue was known. Not finding my location on the map or live feed of outages, I went to report it.

But as soon as I entered my postcode, it replied that the outage was already known. Someone got there first! Interesting: whoever it was presumably had to go through the same preliminaries as me – find a light source, find a phone or other means of reporting at a time when any mains-powered router is out of action. And to have been quicker than me, they can’t have spent time figuring out where to go and what to do, which implies they already knew at least enough to find it without hesitation.

What are the chances of that, bearing in mind this is West Devon, not Shoreditch?

Posted on February 11, 2020, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Perhaps Western Power Distribution’s control room picked up the fault more-or-less as soon as it happened?

Leave a comment