Giant Squash

Much of this autumn’s seasonal produce has been below average in both quantity and quality, possibly due to the weather.

But I’ve been given the most enormous squash from someone’s garden.  Got round to using it yesterday.   Taking the line of least resistance I thought I’d make a big cauldron of spicy pumpkin soup – a dish I know well.  But on chopping it up I find that unlike a big pumpkin, this vegetable is mostly good flesh, with relatively little of the stringy bits and seeds that need to be scraped out.  There’s too much flesh for my big cauldron! 😮   I made the soup with nearly three quarters of it (it contained so much moisture I hardly had to add any water at all), but what to do with the remainder – which is still the size of about two regular shop-bought seasonal squashes?  Can one make a veggie version of pumpkin pie?  Should I trawl the web for some other recipe?

Hmmm …

Posted on November 22, 2012, in food. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Bake a chunk in the oven with a little bit of ginger and some gently-fried onions on top.
    Or cut one into smaller chunks and throw in a roasting tin with a load of other veg – e.g. peppers (preferably the long ones, the name escapes me), carrots, parsnips, baby tomatoes, aubergine, a splash of olive oil and seasoning.

Leave a comment