The indeterminate year

I’ve just[1] had a new year greeting from my brother and sister-in-law in NZ.  Not quite the island of the day before, but silly games with the timezone make for a seasonal pastime, and the kiwis are onto a winner!

Apart from that, I like this season for another reason: the worst of the winter gloom is past, and daylight hours are getting perceptibly longer.  Helped this year by a sustained spell of fine, sunny weather.

[1] Actually a couple of hours ago, but just saw it.

Posted on December 31, 2008, in seasons. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your second comment. It might be the “silly season” but I’m enjoying my few days off work to the full – the weather is perfect (provided one wraps up for the cold). Had some pleasant walks, and painted the remaining exterior walls at the Barn – looking forward to more of the same over the next few days, hopefully.

Leave a comment