Where do I find lost files and mail settings on Mac?

OK, today the macbook lost my mail.

That is to say, instead of Mac’s mail client launching normally, showing me my folders and connecting to my servers, it gives me the setup wizard.  It won’t even let me bypass the wretched wizard and launch the mailer.

OK, I haven’t lost anything irretrievable (except perhaps some long-forgotten drafts), but I’d really rather not do battle with that wizard again: so much frustrating guesswork to find the settings that’ll talk to imap and imaps servers.  Are my settings somewhere I can retrieve them?

It’s at this point I realise how hopelessly irrelevant my Unix knowledge is when it comes to a Mac.  There’s no lost+found directory.  “ls -la ~ |grep -i mail” (and variants) turn up nothing.  Neither does a look in Mac’s /Applications/Mail.app turn up anything that looks remotely promising.

More frustratingly, neither does Google.  My attempts to google this question just turn up screenfuls of how to do things using the Mail GUI.  The same mail client that refuses to launch without the ritual incantation of the setup wizard.  Grrrr …

Dear lazyweb, Anyone know where in the mac filesystem I might look?  MacOS announces itself as 10.7.5.

Posted on January 7, 2015, in mac. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

