Bootstrapping development on mac

I don’t have any strong memory of bootstrapping gcc on the old mac laptop.  It’s something I just did, and I think it was by installing fink.

That’s not working on the new laptop: I’m getting an error message about needing version 10.7 or later of MacOS.  Apple’s own xcode gives exactly the same.  So it looks as if I’m going to have to get my hands dirty just to bootstrap a development environment.

MacOS on the machine identifies itself as version 10.8 (uname -a), so I infer that’s a misleading error message and may have nothing to do with the real reason the installers refuse to run.  But of course in the absence of a compiler, I’m at the mercy of binary packages like these installers.

Googling hasn’t helped: all the results just tell me to install xcode.  I have yet to try adding the specific error message (which I don’t have in front of me ‘cos I’m on a different machine right now), but I thought I’d try blogging just in case someone recognises the problem and can point me to an easy fix.

How do I bootstrap development on a new Mac?

Posted on September 13, 2011, in mac. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. If you have XCode installed, you should be all set for gcc. I haven’t installed any additional gcc stuff, and on Lion after XCode install I get:

    gcc -v
    Using built-in specs.
    Target: i686-apple-darwin11
    [snip]
    Thread model: posix
    gcc version 4.2.1 (Based on Apple Inc. build 5658) (LLVM build 2335.15.00)

    Depending on what you want to do, I also find homebrew essential: http://mxcl.github.com/homebrew/

    (Fink always seemed to have some problem or other, as did macports. Homebrew seems a little more well-behaved, and more easy to write your own recipes.)

    Also, this looks interesting: http://www.atmos.org/cinderella/

  2. But I don’t have xcode – it’s installer refuses to run!

    Re-reading my post I see the ambiguity. But surely the whole post would make no sense if I had xcode, since that includes gcc itself!

  3. What’s the error that XCode gives? What version of Mac OS X is on the new laptop?

  4. The output from ‘uname -a’ gives the Darwin kernel version. Darwin 10.8.0 actually shipped with Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard).

    Xcode 4 requires OS X 10.7.x (Lion). You’ll need to download Xcode 3 to work on Snow Leopard.

Leave a Reply

