Dismal light

Last night at 4a.m. came a big clap of thunder.  I got up to go and disconnect all electronic equipment from the mains power, in case of a damaging spike.

Going back to bed, I notice it’s a lot lighter than it should be.  My window is lit up, almost bright enough to be daylight through thick cloud.  Not in a healthy colour, rather a dirty grey shade of salmon pink.  Looking more closely, I see it’s snowing: the light is just the usual streetlight pollution reflected off thick, falling snow.  Why the **** are we burning so many ugly bright lights at 4 a.m.?

Going out today, I’m disappointed to find it’s nothing like last winter’s real snow, but rather classic English mild-weather slush.  Ugh.  Still seems to have brought half the county to a halt.

Posted on December 20, 2010, in seasons. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Up here in the dizzy heights of Deer Park I missed the thunder clap – despite sleeping lightly and having hearing like a bat – and our snow’s been quite light, crisp and pretty, though it’s starting to freeze hard and look more ugly now.

    The street light thing is a mystery to me too. The lights to the left of my house (as I look out) stay on all night, whilst the ones on the right go off at a late hour. It’s all the same road, and it doesn’t lead anywhere. I’m baffled…perhaps the local authority knows I’m very late home sometimes and leaves them on just for me?

Leave a Reply

