Burning!

Anyone overdone the chillies?  Silly question, we’ve all breathed fire sometime in our lives, haven’t we?  And made the once-only mistake of rubbing the eyes with hands not quite as clean as we thought?  But what about burning the fingers?

My benchmark used to be the tiny little Thai chillies – or their African equivalents.  But since one of our local shops started selling the even-hotter scotch bonnet, I’ve taken to them.

Today I bought a big one, for a curry I was making to feed friends.  Chopped it up small, and as I was doing so felt a sharp pain in a finger.  At first I thought it must be a tiny (invisible) wound, but I’m not so sure any more.  Reacting to it brought heat and pain to the face too – aaargh!

The curry was meant to be hot, and turned out even hotter.  Now after it, the backs of my fingers are burning from the inside.  Even to look at they’re bright red, as of a nettle-rash or insect bite.  Now I see why they use chillies as chemical weapons, and use their essence to keep elephants out in parts of India and Bangladesh.  Yow!

Posted on July 24, 2010, in food. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Poor devil; go to Boots and buy a tube of their tea tree ointment. I think that might ease the discomfort a bit.

  2. We ate the curry and survived!

Leave a Reply

