To the Tower

Since my student days, it’s been a very minor regret that I never lived up the college tower.  Two of my friends did (in different years), and visiting them was … just a little bit different.

Having been roped in to visit Cambridge at the end of this month, it would’ve seemed a shame not to go back to Girton.  So I’ve booked a room there.  And they offered me a room in the tower, which they tell me has recently been refurbished and now offers en-suite rooms!

The big question: will revisiting after such a long time be nostalgic, or a great big anticlimax?

Posted on July 6, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well, if it’s T2, that was my old tower room.

    En suite, eh? If caught short I had to lean out of the window…

    I think that notorious space invaders machine has gone! But the corridors smell the same and the porters are just as weird…

  2. Oh, the soft living students have these days! However, remember you didn’t have to incur large debts for your university education; worth more than the en-suite any day, I reckon.

    Enjoy your visit to your alma mater and don’t get to disappointed at the changes you see.

Leave a Reply

