Mac apps glitch

Dear Lazyweb, can anyone enlighten me?

Today I installed a web conferencing app on the Mac.  It’s packaged the usual Mac way as a .dmg, but it was downloaded from within Oracle’s intranet.  So I downloaded it to the OpenSolaris box (which has the VPN connection), then copied it across to the mac.

Click on the .dmg in finder?  No use, it refuses to open, with an error message about no mountable volumes.  Aaargh!  Three minutes to the conference … think!

So I uploaded it to my webserver in public_html, and typed the new URL into Firefox.  Now it loaded just fine!  Into the web conference – and jolly glad I had the web part of it!

Any mac afficionados tell me why the .dmg won’t load from the local disc?

Posted on March 25, 2010, in mac. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

