FOSDEM: the tools for the job

FOSDEM is huge and busy.  There’s a bit of a walk from the hotel to the venue.  And it’s only a weekend.

Last year I got some use out of the laptop, but it was also sometimes a liability: for example, when standing up, or when power outlets were scarce.  This year I have the pocket-puter, with sufficient battery life to last the day, and usable while standing.

So I’ll make the latter my primary device.  Question is, can I bring myself to leave the laptop at home this morning, and force myself to use exclusively the new toy?

Oh, and if you’re going to FOSDEM, see you there🙂

Posted on February 5, 2010, in FOSDEM. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yay! Managed to tear myself away from the macbook, and now on the train. So I’m committed to surviving the whole of FOSDEM on nothing bigger than the pocket-puter!

    Could be a mild dose of cold turkey, but an indicator of how useful (or otherwise) the pocket-puter really is!

  2. So how would I recognize you?

  3. He is the hairy balding one with a beer belly, sandals and no socks. He is lovely, though!

  4. Seems I’m not the only only one!

    Lots of laptops, but visibly fewer than a year ago. But smartphones are ubiquitous!

  5. Mumsy, you forgot his most distinguishing feature – the beard (perhaps this was covered under “hairy”). Mind you, there’ll no doubt be plenty of those at FOSDEM too.

Leave a Reply

