Reverse Proxying Tutorial

My reverse proxying tutorial seems to be a standard reference on the subject.  Unfortunately it’s been allowed to get out-of-date as the software concerned has developed.

I updated it a week or two ago to fix those parts that are no longer correct or recommended, and to describe practice with Apache 2.2, mod_proxy_html 3.1, and mod_xml2enc.  Having today seen someone on IRC ask about a configuration clearly derived from the outdated version, I thought I should blog it here in the hope of reaching a few more googlers.

I may expand it a bit further to cover additional subtopics, particularly internationalisation.  I’m half-tempted to add something brief on other common reverse-proxying topics: authentication and single-sign-on, caching, load-balancing, and perhaps even mod_security.  But at the same time, I’m not particularly keen to grow it long enough to do justice to such topics.  Anyone with views on whether this would or wouldn’t be useful, feel free to comment here.

Posted on October 5, 2009, in apache. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yes, It would be very helpful for newbies seeking to become competent in integrating Glassfish and Apache using virtual Servers. I tried the methodology that in 2006-2007, was the way to go about it as Amy Roh and Jean-Francois Arcand were promoting, but as soon as I hooked in the Virtual Hosts, so I could include php and static websites that were not part of Glassfish deployments, it broke. I was almost ready to drop Apache in favor of the Http virtual server in Glassfish (of which I was not wanting to do), when I ran across other mentions of your Blog and subsequent Reverse Proxying methods.

    However, I now have to train myself to get this right, and I am trying to learn how to properly compile a new module (mod_xml2enc) as stated is necessary in your http://www.apachetutor.org/admin/reverseproxies.

    All I can say is that I really appreciate any help you could contribute to my dilemma of having to learn something long enough to get through it. Being the sole architect of our startup makes me “eat my own dog food” repeatably when I decide what technology we will use! In this case I believe Apache 2.2.6 and Glassfish 2.1 are the way to go, so I will muddle through it.

    Thanks,

    Curtis Fisher
    CEO
    Professional Content LLC
    Office: 5100 Blue Ridge Blvd
    Mail: 6222 Raytown Trafficway #193
    Raytown, MO 64133
    SkypeID: curtis.fisher2
    Skype Line: 816.298.0492
    Bus: 816.668.3650
    FAX: 816.581.8966

  2. good tutorial, thanks

Leave a Reply

