Mobile phone as modem

After my recent scare, I’ve decided I definitely want to enable myself to connect through the ‘phone, and I’ve been playing with using the mobile phone as modem.  That, I assumed, should be straightforward from home while I have my normal connectivity: first go online with the phone via my home wifi, then connect the phone to a computer by USB.

I’ve been through each of those steps before now.  When I plug in the USB cable, the phone offers a choice of four connection modes.  So this time, instead of my customary “mass storage” I selected “Connect PC to Web”.  Unfortunately neither OpenSolaris nor MacOS responded by finding a network device, so I guess I have to look for drivers.  So much for never having to look “under the hood” in a modern OS😦

Moving to Bluetooth (only the Mac has the hardware for that), I hit a different snag.  The Mac doesn’t want to use the ‘net connection I’ve set up on the ‘phone.  Instead, it prompts for my credentials from a GPRS provider.  Seems it’ll only use the phone as a dumb modem😦

Guess I still have some RTFM to do before forking out to subscribe to a service.

Posted on July 12, 2009, in telephony, teleworking. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. In case it helps, I believe you’re looking for your OS’s equivalent of cdc_acm: this from my n95, which works:

    [491525.268241] usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 5
    [491525.547472] usb 2-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    [491527.514207] cdc_acm 2-1:1.10: ttyACM0: USB ACM device
    [491527.540444] usbcore: registered new interface driver cdc_acm
    [491527.540465] cdc_acm: v0.26:USB Abstract Control Model driver for USB modems and ISDN adapters

    There are nice instructions for the 3 network involving wvdial (detects existence of ttyACM0), a phone# of “*99#” and username=”username”, password= either blank or “password”; for yodafone etc, YMMV. Good ol’ wvdial; what a blast from the past!🙂

  2. Thanks, Tim. That looks like the kind of clue I was fishing for.

    A bit more reading last night brought back memories of old modems, with mentions of PPP, and Hayes-like command sequences. Also found a driver for the Mac at Nokia’s website, but have yet to test-drive it.

Leave a Reply

