Off the critical list

For the first time since last Wednesday, I’m sitting at the computer and feeling comfortable with it, as opposed to desperately wishing to be in bed, or at least in a hot bath. I hope that means I’m on the road to recovery.

I’m not sure how to describe this bout of the lurgy. It started last Thursday as a seemingly-mild cold, which I tried to sleep off. It worsened over the weekend, and by Sunday afternoon I was feeling seriously ill. But it’s been different from classic bad-lurgy symptoms: in particular, none of the crippling headaches that would preclude any kind of computing. What’s been uniquely alarming this time is the feeling of half-drowning, and a need for excessive and violent coughing to clear the lungs/airways, mostly at night. Sunday night was scary, and Monday was better only because the other symptoms had improved (no longer shivering).

Is it an inevitable part of getting older that symptoms of a lurgy get more alarming? I guess that’s why they give ‘flu jabs to pensioners, but it begs difficult questions about the years between now and my eligibility for NHS care. Or whatever it’s become by then under the weight of demographics.

Posted on December 23, 2008, in health. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like the rather grim flu virus that’s doing the rounds at the moment. Apparently it’s called Brisbane Flu, or H3N2 for the technically savvy. According to the Guardian, this one seems to be afflicting the 15 to 44 age group rather more than the older generation due to social contact.

    Anyway, I’m glad you’re recovering as I have a flagon of Christmas Cheer for you that I want to bring round some time.

  2. I hope you’re feeling better now…

Leave a Reply

