Downtime!

A comment on this blog today alerted me that my webserver had gone down, for the first time since moving to slicehost. The system had rebooted, and instead of my webserver there was an unconfigured system default installation – so my link to it from the blog had failed. Some other services were also down, though email (both postfix and dovecot) were running correctly – so my suspicions weren’t immediately aroused.  Maybe I should de-automate dovecot startup so I get a visible error pushed on me.

My fault – fixing up the init scripts should’ve been done when I first set the server up. But no great damage done. I’ve now replaced the apache init script with a symlink to the proper apachectl, which should work fine for startup purposes. Hopefully the next slicehost reboot will be incident-free.

Posted on December 2, 2008, in internet. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

