Spanish Translation

Got a package from my publisher today. “DESARROLLO DE MÓDULOS Y APLICACIONES CON APACHE”. Yep, author copies of the spanish translation of the Apache Modules Book. I knew about this from having received the royalty, but this is physical copies!

Since I don’t myself speak spanish, I have no use for this. Can send to someone who has a use for it, for the cost of postage if you’re someone I consider a friend and/or can demonstrate opensource credentials. And for these purposes, you may count as a “friend” on a pretty tenuous link: for example, if I’ve ever commented on your blog, it seems likely you’re someone I consider worth my time and effort!

Posted on October 28, 2008, in apache, books. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hope you get a god one. I localized a program once into Spanish. It was tough but I saw it was much better than others out there. Microsoft is at fault since it gives the green light for literal translations as it does with its own. My favorite example. MS translates the word “cell” as in Excel with the Spanish word for the monk’s or the prisoner’s cell. In Spanish there are two different words. This is now changing the language such is MAS power.

  2. I hope you get a good one. I localized a program once into Spanish. It was tough but I saw it was much better than others out there. Microsoft is at fault since it gives the green light for literal translations as it does with its own. My favorite example. MS translates the word “cell” as in Excel with the Spanish word for the monk’s or the prisoner’s cell. In Spanish there are two different words. This is now changing the language such is MAS power.

Leave a Reply

