Cheese Fair

It’s that time of year again.  The Tavistock Cheese Fair at the town hall, organised by Country Cheeses.  A great chance for cheese-lovers to meet the best producers, and vice versa.

I went today, and encountered the expected mixture of old favourites and interesting new tastes.  Together, of course, with others I won’t be buying.  But I think I’ve accomplished what I set out to do: expand the list of cheeses I’ll make my regulars over the next year.

Yum!

The downside is that because it’s popular, it’s way too crowded.  Something of a true Everyman[1] event, enjoyed by small children, oldies in wheelchairs, and everyone in between.  Still, this is one event that’s worth facing the crowds for.

Yum!

[1] a term that encompasses both sexes – lest anyone with more politically-correct sensibilities than English comprehension think otherwise.

Posted on August 23, 2008, in food, tavistock. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m hoping to go on Sunday – maybe it’ll be less crowded then?

  2. I, for one, didn’t know at all all the fine variety of nice looking Brit cheeses. I only knew cheddar and that’d be it. Now I wonder where can I get a taste of them here in Spain…

  3. yango – can you get a decent cheddar in Spain? That was something I missed in Italy.

  4. I think so, at least it was from Cheddar and I liked its taste. It can be found in “El Corte Inglés” supermarkets.

    I hope you took revenge for the cheddar absence on the mozzarella di buffala🙂

Leave a Reply

