A hell I’d forgotten …

I’ve been independent for so long, I’ve been able to organise myself to avoid most of the worst things people inflict on themselves. For example, I’m usually pretty good at avoiding peak-hour travel.

But since returning to wage-slave status (albeit slave to a better master than of old), I’ve come to see Monday-Friday as no longer being as free as I’ve been accustomed to. And so it is that today, on a Saturday, I took the bus into Plymouth and went shopping.

Ouch!

Now I remember why I’ve avoided Saturday shopping for ten years :-(  Though I should perhaps add that I rarely go shopping at all other than locally or for food: today was the first time this year.

Posted on August 2, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. as long as you join meetings you’ve committed to, no one much cares which days you work🙂

    my problem is I tend to work all 7 of them

  2. Matt – MeToo.

    But that’s not the only reason for going on a Saturday. In recent months, Saturdays have often been a Bad Time to be at home, due to noisy things happening nearby.

    Should’ve been up the moors instead. Saturday was the only bright/sunny weather we’ve had since last Monday afternoon, when thunder drove out the hot spell. And (unlike a week ago) it was really pleasant rather than hot …

Leave a Reply

