Yay for Zones!

Well, I’ve still no idea what killed my SFW build.

But after further attempts to fix or work around it, I’ve gone for an alternative approach.  Instead of just running it as its own user (as I started out doing), I’ve created a new Solaris Zone dedicated to sfw.  And of course an sfw user within that zone.  I’m happy to say that it works within the zone, so I’m back on track and (hopefully) isolated from whatever caused the trouble.  Evidently zones have more to offer than mere security🙂

Next, I’m playing about with creating a virtual network amongst zones.  Slightly confuzzled by the significant differences between my solaris version and the crossbow docs (such as Sunay’s blog) in, for example, the dladm command, but I think I can work around that.

Posted on August 1, 2008, in opensolaris, solaris. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

