New steed!

I’ve just made it to my local bike shop to pick up my new steed.  Unfortunately I don’t have time today for a ride, beyond the short stretch home from the shop, so that pleasure is yet to come.

One thing I haven’t used before is these gearshifts based around the brake levers. The super galaxy has the brake lever itself shift up, and a smaller lever shift down, on both sides, so that’s not too confusing. The other common new feature – fix your feet to the pedals – doesn’t come as standard, and I didn’t ask for it, so I have old-fashioned toeclips instead. I know it’s much less efficient than special-purpose cycling shoes, but it’ll go nicely with my old trainers.

I still need to make some adjustments. I think I’ll want to move the saddle forward a little, and I may want to move the bars. But great to have a good-quality touring bike: one that’s great on-road and will also survive off-road!

Whee!

Posted on April 17, 2008, in cycling. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Get out there and enjoy the sunshine while it lasts!

  1. Pingback: Getting to know the new mount « niq’s soapbox

Leave a Reply

