New Bike

I’ve ordered a new bike today.

On Tuesday I went in to one of our Tavistock LBSs, and asked them to do a bit of work on my folding bike. I also took out a Super Galaxy they had on show for a spin.

Today I went back to collect the folder. Derek, the shop owner, was there, and made me an offer I couldn’t refuse on the Super Galaxy. So I’ve put down a deposit on it, and will collect it as soon as I’m back from ApacheCon.

It’s been far too long since I’ve had a decent-quality road bike, and I’ve still got the chronic problem of nowhere good to keep it. Its first main task is to help with finding a new home, with bike space.

Posted on April 3, 2008, in cycling. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good choice – my 1981 vintage (non-Super) Galaxy served me well as a student and afterwards and, to the best of my knowledge, its Reynolds frame is still hard at work with an enthusiastic new(ish) owner in Bristol.

  2. Great Niq! Glad to see you treating yourself to a both practical and fun, new toy! I still ride a 1983 Miyata seven-ten. Still just as good as new.

  3. My regular galaxy is also a great bike, today though I’m heading out to my LBS to look to spend depressingly silly about of money on a faster road bike – the 14.5kg’s for the galaxy is great and all, but I’m thinking 9kg would have me a lot more fun on the quick rides.

  1. Pingback: New steed! « niq’s soapbox

Leave a Reply

