Winter == this morning

This morning we had a sufficiently hard frost for much of town to be dressed in white.

Why am I remarking on such a perfectly normal thing?  Because it’s no longer normal.  We’re a thoroughly maritime climate, meaning we get neither cold winters nor hot summers.  But twenty years ago we’d have had our first such frost sometime in November, and the coldest days would remain below freezing all day.  Indeed, the government in the 1980s introduced a “cold weather” payment to help pensioners, which was triggered when the temperature maximum remained below -2 for several consecutive days (I forget how many).

And now, a first visible frost comes only in February, and is pretty much gone by 11a.m.  No wonder things like English wine are becoming mainstream!

Posted on February 2, 2008, in devon, environment, seasons, tavistock, uk. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yep. I marvelled at the white stuff too this morning. For once it was too cold for me to take advantage of the lack of rain to continue painting my front gates until quite late on in the day, the gates being covered in frost. To be expected in February, one might think. But last Sunday I was painting the same gates in my t-shirt – it was too warm to wear my habitual paint-splattered sweatshirt.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

