apr_dbd_freetds driver

Over the past couple of days, I’ve been test-driving the APR DBD driver for FreeTDS, and getting to grips with it. Tonight I’ve reached the point where I’m (provisionally) satisfied that it’s working sufficiently for my client’s immediate needs, as well as for general webserver tasks such as SQL authentication and rewritemaps.

So, once I get round to uploading it, Sybase and Microsoft SQL join MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQLite and Oracle as databases supported or partially supported by APR/Apache.

The documentation sucks compared to either MySQL or PostgreSQL, but it’s a million times better to work with than the Oracle crap. And although these databases are not open-source, the FreeTDS source is eminently readable. That helps a lot!

There’s still lots to do before it can be described as a full-featured driver, let alone an adequately-tested one. But we have worthwhile progress. And a new feature that could be worth generalising to apr_dbd so all drivers can use it.

Posted on June 4, 2007, in apache. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m pretty good at testing stuff out, so if I can be of assistance I will try. Not sure what FreeTDS is about but I’m game with MySQL and SQLite.

Leave a Reply

