Apache Training

In the last two years ApacheCon (Stuttgart 2005 and Dublin 2006) I’ve given a tutorial in Apache Module development. The first one I presented jointly with Paul Querna, and my performance was not good (Paul’s was clearly better). The second one was basically solo (though Will Rowe made a contribution), and my own performance was much better, helped by the fact that I could use substantially-complete material from The Book as tutorial notes, as well as by my experience from the previous year. The Dublin tutorial was rated excellent in the attendee feedback sent after the conference by the ApacheCon organisers.

This year, I’ve just heard it seems to be dead, due to insufficient numbers of attendees. Actually I only heard I was giving it a couple of weeks ago when I signed up for ApacheCon and saw it listed amongst the courses available: I wonder if that has anything to do with it?

I’m not sure what’s changed. This year it’s had no publicity from me(!), but I’ve no idea how much it had from the organisers in each of the three years. I’m not aware of any great macroeconomic trends or major changes in the popularity of Apache likely to have had this effect. Could being earlier in the year have an effect? The biggest change is that the book is now in print (and has been favourably reviewed). Can it be that prospective attendees are buying the book instead of signing up for the tutorial?

Posted on April 13, 2007, in apache, apachecon, books, training. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just had a question about apache and I can’t find any mailing lists on the apache site for basic questions or forums anywhere else that relate to it. Sorry for the intrusion on your blog but perhaps you would know – I am running windows XP and I downloaded apache. I don’t let it go to the internet cause I’ve heard that if you don’t know what you’re doing that could be dangerous! When Zone Alarm asks if it could go to the internet – I choose deny. I was wondering if it’s going to the internet anyway(or just listening on port 80) cause httpd shows up in my task manager processes and why do I get a hit on my firewall saying incoming httpd before I learned to kill those processes from my task manager. After I get one of those hits. All other hits on my firewall register backwards. Thanks for any help with this. You wrote a book – so I figure that you’d know.

    -Lisa

  1. Pingback: Apachecon « niq’s soapbox

Leave a Reply

