Splat!

I can’t leave this unblogged.  John was right behind me at the time, and won’t let me forget it if I try.

The UK tax year for personal tax ends on April 5th.  So this is the time of year to decide how to optimise our tax affairs, and specifically what kind of a dividend WebThing should pay (assuming we can afford it).

So yesterday evening, we got together to look over the figures.  Of course, we wanted a nice venue for a meeting, and that (alas) implies an out-of-town pub.  I suggested the Peter Tavy Inn, somewhere that looks decent but that neither of us knew (if we’d really hated it, the Elephant’s Nest is nearby as a fallback).  Anyway, the pub was fine, which is nice to know.

It’s too far to walk, so we cycled, using the little country lanes in the dark.  My normal bike is dead, with a big crack in the top tube, so I was on the company bike, a folder whose purpose is to combine easily with public transport on business travel.  It has small wheels, and less stability on a rough road than a full-size bike.

The outward journey is mostly uphill, for which my little LED front light is adequate.  But there’s one substantial downhill stretch, leading to a right turn at a tiny crossroads.  And I could hear a car engine somewhere behind.  Hmm, well, I’ve got to find the right turn, in the dark, on the downhill.  That might mean some faffing about.  Best not to do that with a car behind, so let’s find somewhere to let it pass.

Is that brighter light from behind John’s bike light, or car lights at a greater distance?  Try to look at too many things at once; get confused by a farm gate on the left as the road bears right.  Put the front wheel off the side of the road.  Front wheel stops; everything else, including me, goes over it.  Aaargh!

And no car: it had already turned off at the top of the hill!

No damage done, except to my (already-knackered) glove.  But John told me it was quite impressive to look upon from behind!

After our meal and meeting, we returned along the main road.  I dislike main roads whilst on the uphill (and therefore breathing hard), but that’s much less of a problem when heading in the downhill direction.  And of course, with the main road being wider than the overhanging vegetation, having a smoother surface, etc, it’s safe to ride at downhill speeds.

Posted on March 12, 2007, in webthing. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’d almost forgotten already. However, since you remind me of the incident, I was most impressed at how you ended up on your feet whilst the bike was upside down, resting on the handlebars!

    And for anyone reading, the chronology of Nick’s tale is completely correct. It was indeed BEFORE we indulged at the pub that this happened!

Leave a Reply

