wordpress.com is pwned!

… is the only explanation I can see.

My last post “is it blog spam” appeared as “private” when I first hit the “publish” button. Before I’d even made it public, two comments had appeared. They were trackbacks that were definitely and unambiguously spam.

That must surely have come from within!

Posted on March 3, 2007, in spam, wordpress, wordpress.com. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. On the other hand, Matt Mullenweg has sold out to spammers once already. Maybe this is what pays the wordpress.com bills.

  2. Jim, that’s not a very nice thing to suggest about someone you don’t know.

    Nick, it sounds like you may be getting hit with this bug:

    http://trac.wordpress.org/ticket/3895

  3. Matt, it wouldn’t even have occurred to me if you hadn’t done something similar before.

  4. I made a big mistake on a site I ran, I’ve never done anything like that before or since, or on anyone else’s blog or site, and furthermore with Akismet I’ve devoted a fair amount of my life the past year to keeping web spam off blogs, wikis, contact forms, and more.

Leave a Reply

