fsck!

Since the old desktop box is definitely dead, I just got around to sticking its memory into its replacement.  So now I have my biggest ever desktop, with a full gig.

It works.  But somehow, the hardware change upset linux’s (ACPI) hibernated state.  That’s a full power-down with save-state-to-disc, not the kind of semi-suspend that’ll wake on things like keyboard or LAN.  Not only did it not do a rapid boot to the same state I had before; it went and fscked everything!

WTF???

Anyway, it all works fine now:-)

Posted on November 28, 2006, in linux. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve had the same happening to me by creating a 1.5G swap partition and then later upgrading to 2G memory. Usually I can make it work by killing off a few memory wasting programs (firefox) before hitting hibernate.

Leave a Reply

