Daily Archives: November 10, 2006

Sample proofs of the book

I’ve just got sample proofs of Chapter 2 from the publisher, with instructions to check whether I’m happy with the general appearance and layout, but ignore things like typos(!)

Being a plain text kind of person, I find that harder than reviewing the text, and I think I’ll have to bite the bullet and print it out to review it. I’m not convinced the headings are sufficiently distinctive (hmmmm), and inline fixed font elements (variables, module names, etc) look larger than the text in code listings. Those are things I can’t judge from on-screen. On the definitely-positive side, they seem to have done a good job with code examples, with no bogus line-wrap in evidence.

Looking at my series editor’s own Linux book in the series, I see the same typographic traits, so I guess that’s what we get.

My Chapter 2 was 25 pages (A4 size). That’s become 32 pages in their 7*9 size. Since the whole book was 43? pages when it went into production, that seems consistent with the 560 pages they’ve advertised. 30% of that is the HTTP spec (RFC2616) which is included as an appendix. I d*** well want that in print for myself, and I expect my readers will too!

US Elections bad news?

Some of us said in the lead in to the Iraq war: the lying warmongers Bush and Blair need to get a seriously bloody nose out of this. Serious enough to put the dampers on any more such wars for a generation.

That shows signs of happening.

But now the Democrats victory leaves Bush an escape route. He can beat an ignominious retreat, and his propaganda machine can blame it on the Democrats (who already deserve a minority share of the blame, and will no doubt build on that). It may not be convincing to us outsiders, but his loyalists will of course believe it, just as they believe there was a connection between Saddam and Bin Laden (other than the fact that Rumsfeld made millions selling weapons to both of them).

With an effective scapegoat in place, the next president but one or thereabouts might do exactly the same thing somewhere else. And that’s the worst possible outcome.

On the other hand, if they can turn up very serious dirt on the administration (e.g. by following the money from 9/11), maybe some benefit could come. Not that they’d be able to publish that kind of thing in our lifetimes.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers