The Gasman Cometh

Well, not exactly.

But I’ve just looked at my gas bill. It’s for just under three months (85 days), and the period is split almost exactly in half by a substantial price rise. They took meter readings at the beginning and end of the billing period, but not at the time of the price rise.

So, that’s two estimated halves of my gas bill. Since the two periods are of almost exactly equal length, you’d think they could charge half the total at each rate. But no: they’ve estimated two thirds of the total usage at the higher rate! That’s a dirty trick to overcharge by stealth.

Is it worth making a fuss about? Objectively speaking, no way: the difference is only a few pence, on a total bill of between six and seven pounds, so the time and effort of writing a single letter of complaint wipes it out – never mind the ensuing trouble. But as a point of principle, should they be allowed to get away with it unchallenged?

Bah, Humbug.

Posted on November 1, 2006, in rants, uk. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I buy my electricity from a small, Wiltshire-based, independent renewable generator/supplier. In common with most energy companies they have increased their prices recently. However they emailed me several weeks before the price increase to notify me of it whilst inviting me to submit a self-read meter reading close to the increase date so that my next bill could be apportioned as fairly as possible. I duly emailed my reading and was pleased to see that my most recent bill has been split very accurately indeed. Well done Good Energy – not all utilities are rogues!

Leave a Reply

