Hardware on its last legs

My desktop machine has taken to dying suddenly. The most usual symptom: an audible (not loud) whimper from somewhere inside, and it powers down. It then needs lots of nursing to bring it back up (but then, this box has a bit of a history of that).

Anyway, I have a new box on my desktop, and I’ve copied important stuff (aka /home; other stuff is better to reinstall from clean) over, so if all’s well I can just move without resorting to the backup. But I still need to get the new box up to speed, and without the space for two machines with such little luxuries as monitor and keyboard, I keep finding excuses to do something else. Like … oh buggrit:-(

Posted on October 20, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

