mod_proxy_html bugfix 3.1.1

It’s always gratifying to get constructive feedback from users.  That includes bug reports backed by sufficient information to make a diagnosis.

The bug I’ve just fixed today must’ve been there unreported[1] for years: the code in question is unchanged since 2004.  It won’t affect most users, but it hits when ProxyHTMLMeta is On and parsing the <meta> tag fails, which can happen due to capitalisation.  And it’s serious: it dereferences a null pointer and segfaults!

This is sufficiently serious to merit an immediate new bugfix release, 3.1.1, which should be published within a few hours.  Thanks to user Jie Gao for reporting the bug and supplying a perfect test case!

While I’m on the subject, another user pointed out that 3.x won’t compile on Apache 2.0 for a trivial reason.  While 2.0 support isn’t really a priority any more (Apache 2.0 users can of course run mod_proxy_html 2.5), I don’t want to break it gratuitously.  So I fixed that too.  (I made a corresponding fix in mod_xml2enc in svn, but that doesn’t call for a new release).

[1] or if there were reports that trace back to this, they were too vague to be useful.

Posted on October 7, 2009, in apache. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Talk about timely. Look, I’m a developer who is trying to integrate Glassfish and Apache using reverse proxies according to the instructions contained on http://www.apachetutor.org/admin/reverseproxies. I have 2 immediate issues related to compiling Apache modules. I have 2.2.6 installed on Fedora 8 (we are using an Amazon AMI we have modified) and I cannot locate the source files for the *.h files to include:

    #include
    #include
    #include
    #include
    #include
    #include
    #include “mod_xml2enc.h”

    Another tact would be to locate an RPM that installs all that I need… But if that’s not possible, I continue.

    I know I can compile only the module and don’t have to do apache in full, but I don’t know where to locate these files, or if once located, know whether they are version sensitive or not. If you could point me to where I can locate the files and provide me with any other critical information i need to know before attempting this for the first time, I will be eternally grateful.

    Better yet, although it doesn’t seem like you are taking on any extra work, if you would like to shoot me a quote, I would be very interested in you doing this properly.

    Again, I thank you for your contributions to the community and thank you ahead of time for any reply you have the time to make.

    Curtis Fisher
    CEO
    Professional Content LLC
    procontent.net
    Office: 5100 Blue Ridge Blvd
    Mail: 6222 Raytown Trafficway #193
    Raytown, MO 64133
    SkypeID: curtis.fisher2
    Skype Line: 816.298.0492
    Bus: 816.668.3650
    FAX: 816.581.8966

  2. I just installed mod_proxy_html 3.1.2 (using apxs) on a default
    CentOS 5.4 box.
    Everything works as expected but there is a nasty problem.
    All closing link-tags ( [/link] ) are removed from html pages handled
    by mod_proxy_html. I tried tons of different settings, e.g. removing the default rule for links, updated libxml2, wrote simple html-testpages using different forms of link-tags to investigate this further.
    But every string “[/link]” is missing from the output html.
    Today I will try on a Fedora 12 box, but the web server runs CentOS …

  3. Did some further checking. It happens with Fedora 12 and the mod_proxy_html package that is part of the Fedora distribution (also 3.1.2).
    I finally came up with the idea to add link tags to a static web page
    that has been successfully “proxied” via a web server with mod_proxy_html
    for years now (so absolutely no change to old apache configuration).
    Same result – the closing link-tag is missing from the output.
    That server is using mod_proxy_html 3.0.0

  1. Pingback: Another module update « niq’s soapbox

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

