A salutory lesson

Just read the sad tale of the demise of Gianugo’s blog.

In short, it fell victim to a spammer/cracker inserting something nasty, which only got noticed when the entire blog fell out of google.  Gianugo had fallen into the common trap of assuming a personal site too insignificant to be of interest to an attacker (a mistake with which I entirely sympathise).  If I’m not much mistaken, Gianugo knows what he’s doing, and if it can happen to him, it can happen to any of us.

For me, this is a very good reason to host my blog at wordpress.com – one less thing to worry about.  Which is not to say I won’t fall victim to a similar attack, either my own server through something different, or my blog through a successful attack on wordpress.com.  We can but do our best to protect ourselves against known dangers!

Posted on January 15, 2008, in security, wordpress. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

