Daily Archives: October 12, 2007

#apache-helpdesk meet

Just back from meeting some of my regular online colleagues in person. Specifically, from the #apache and #apache-helpdesk IRC channels on irc.freenode.net.

pctony, yango, noodl – great to put faces to the names (OK, I met noodl briefly once before). Not to mention yango’s lovely better half, Andrea, who is with him on a short holiday in Blighty.

Worth a mention: this was yango’s first exposure to trad. english warm beer. We had pints at two different pubs, of which the first was good and the second disappointing. If that second one had been our visitor’s first exposure to it, I suspect it might have been his last, leaving me slightly embarassed (again) to be a Brit. I wonder how many foreigners get a bad first pint and confirm all the worst they’ve heard about our warm beer?