Not the ITIN, again

I got another letter today, from the US IRS. It’s all part of the ITIN saga. This one says they’re refusing me an ITIN, because I already have one.

Well, that’s true. But, erm, I didn’t when I applied. Let’s review the chronology of it:

  1. Late February: initial application with (expensive) supporting documentation. According to their literature, I should have it within six weeks.
  2. Early May: Nine weeks after applying, I try to follow it up. They can’t find it!
  3. Later May: Apply a second time, this time in person at the US embassy in London. This one will take up to twelve weeks.
  4. Mid-August: the ITIN finally arrives, about twelve weeks after the second application.
  5. Today: Letter arrives refusing an ITIN because I already have one.

My guess is that both applications finally got processed, though now I’ve no idea which one brought me the August number, and which led to today’s rejection. I just have to hope they won’t give me any more trouble. I think my executive summary from August still stands.

Posted on September 13, 2007, in USA. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

