Grrr

I spent a long time on the phone to the US IRS today, to try and find out what’s happened to my application for an ITIN. After a couple of abortive attempts to navigate the menus, I got through to a human. She was basically friendly and helpful and haveaniceday, left me most of the time (45 minutes total) on hold, and failed to find any trace of my application.

Since it’s now 9 weeks since I posted the form, and they say give it six weeks, she suggested I resubmit. I pointed out that what I’d sent had cost $130 (£64) to get my password notarised, and I’m really not happy to repeat that ad infinitem.

OK, I have a journey next week that I could make via London for only about £25-30 extra, and not too much time penalty. Time to phone the US embassy and ask if they can help? And check where I can leave my luggage so I (hopefully) don’t get shot by some security person as I approach it.

Bah, humbug,

Posted on May 9, 2007, in rants, USA. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Leave your luggage? As a fanatical facial fluff freedom fighter, you’re bound to blow up something, so why not the embassy?

  2. Welcome to U.S. beauracracy. If you ever need anything from the guvment, good luck getting it in a timely manner… unless you’re needing a prison cell or something. And as far as the IRS lady being friendly? That’s proof enough that the IRS are using robots and you did not get through to a human being.

  3. megaspaz: nope, she wasn’t called fajita. At least, I don’t think she was.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

